

124 W. Washington St., Medina, Ohio 44256

P: 330-723-6393

F: 330-723-0573

www.medina-esc.org March 2019

**Inside This Edition** 

2019 Medina Countv

Spelling Bee

Medina County Math 24

Tournament

Volume 21 Issue 4

## 2019 Medina County Spelling Bee

Congratulations to the Medina County students who showed their outstanding spelling skills in the Medina County Spelling Bee, which was presented by the ESC of Medina County and hosted by Medina High School on Wednesday, February 6! Six of these students have qualified to move on to the Akron Beacon Journal Regional Spelling Bee. These students are:

- Tyler Gilbert—Buckeye Junior High
- Ayden McCartney—A.I. Root Middle School
- Kara Yen—Highland Middle School
- Irelyn Pelka—Cloverleaf Middle School
- Brayden Morford—Claggett Middle School
- Amelia Cassidy—A.I. Root Middle School

We wish our Medina County spellers the very best as they compete in the regional bee in Akron on Saturday, March 9, 2019! In addition to our Medina County spellers, students from Summit, Portage, and Wayne counties will be participating in the regional Spelling Bee.

## **Medina County Math 24 Tournament**

Congratulations to the fourth-grade students who participated in this year's Medina County Math 24 Tournament on Thursday, February 21! Almost one hundred fourth-graders from the Brunswick, Buckeye, Cloverleaf, Medina, Wadsworth, and Wooster Christian school districts took part in this problem-solving event. The four students who had the top scores for the day's math rounds made it to the final round of competition. Those students were Alex Han (Brunswick), Kate Shearer (Buckeye), Alayna Yananaz (Medina), and Carson Baltic (Cloverleaf). Carson ended the day as the winner of the tournament! The 24 Tournament was sponsored by the ESC of Medina County and hosted by Cloverleaf Local School District.





Inspirational Quote

There are no limits to what you can accomplish, except the limits you place on your own thinking.





SUPERINTENDENT William J. Koran

TREASURER Anthony L. Hatmaker BOARD MEMBERS

> Kent Patterson President

Janice Vance Vice President

Lisa Hamilton *Member* 

Mark Kollar Member

Zachary Ravanelli Member

